Deal-less Day

Ever since I was five I have gone black Friday shopping, and I love it, I even like to tell people it is my favorite holiday. Since I have been going for about 10-11 years now I’ve seen how it has changed over the years and have learned strategies to get the best deals.

I never really go shopping for deals I just go because there is something about getting up at an outrageous time and to go shopping. When I first stated to go black Friday shopping I remember stores would open at earliest 4 a.m. which I found to be crazy at that time. The deals you would find then were actually pretty good; many stores would have there entire store 50% off, and store were practically diving away some electronics and movies. I don’t know why but I’ll never forget this one time many years ago that I think it was at Kohl’s or Younkers, one of those stores and when you walked into the door they would hand you a piece of chocolate and on the inside of the wrapper would be a coupon for 20-50% off your purchase which as a kid was pretty awesome; mostly because of the chocolate.

Even though I love Black Friday still and probably always will it has gotten worse over the years. I knew that stores were opening earlier and earlier but as I was looking through ads on Thanksgiving night and saw that some stores were opening doors at 8p.m. I was pretty pissed off. Last time I checked 8p.m. on a Thursday night was not Friday. I am sure people love avoiding lines and rushes, but as a kid that was always what added to the fun; standing outside in line waiting, at 3a.m.,  in the cold with people who appreciated this day as much as you did. Now there are those people who just go get their TV at Best Buy at 8p.m. and then are home in bed by 9:30, I like to think they don’t deserve because they didn’t have to endure anything to get it.

Last year I rushed with my mother to our nearest outlet mall just to get there by 12 p.m. where I soon found out was a waste of my time. I guess that the earlier the doors open the less deals they offer. Luckily I learned from this and this year I just got up at 5 a.m and go the same deals that I could have gotten if I went at 8p.m.

Black Friday will always be the best holiday but the thrill I lost taking any amazing sales with it.

Leave a comment