Making Mistakes

I am all for mistakes, I feel our society has given the impression that making mistakes is bad. Making mistakes is what you want to do when learning because most liking if you make a mistake you will learn from it.

This idea should factor into parenting, im not saying this because I am a clueless teenager who has parents who wont let them stay out past curfew I always say “thats not fair”; because thats not me, i understand rules but I dont understand some reations to when rules are broken. Apart of being youth is about making mistakes, without making mistakes there is no learning from them.

Lets say your child decided to drink and then drive and they get pulled over; yes they got caught and yes the police will most likely ticket them for it, but what if they are 25 and never learned from that mistake that they were held back from, now that punishment is going to be more then just a ticket. I am nt saying you should drink and drive as a youth because that is dumb, but if you do choose too learn from those mistakes because in a few years you wont be able to leave mistakes like that in the past.

I am sure being grounded for a month is better then being in jail for a month.

Leave a comment